Failure – A misunderstood successful attempt!

At various stages of my life, I was struggling with the fear of failure. I found it frustrating when I started to put something fearfailure1in motion, as simple as an idea with the fear of being unable to complete it. My mind was filled with unecessary thoughts and materialistic things which held me further back. Yes, I paralyzed with fear that I would fail. I could sympathize with this anxiety about failure but was unable to overcome it. I was worried about failure and the idea of disappointing others.

I think I have developed a great sense of mastering failure for few things ;-). I can’t even call it bad decision-making. I make a decision, evaluate it based on my experience on what might happen, and then make another decision based on the results. If something doesn’t work out, I learn as much as I can from it. Then I either find a better way to do it or do something else. That is all I can do.

In my theory, I think it is impossible to fail. There are two choices – I can either allow the negative results of my decisions to knock me down and keep me from trying again, or I begin to count my failures as lessons learnt for my future successes. If I think about it, it makes perfect sense to look at the plans that don’t work as a positive, because they usually direct me to think out of the box in another direction. And there is always the possibility of getting the unhidden results.

Now my theory is not scientifically proven and I am skeptical at various times. Its like trying to stick to a path long enough to find out if it would work for me or not. Behind every failure is a potential for success, and if I give up too soon, I may never know what wonderful thing I could have accomplished.

“Ah, it is easier said than done”, you would think. Yes…and uhmmm No!

Thomas Edison was supposedly asked by a reporter how it felt to have experienced 1,000 failures in inventing his light bulb, and the inventor candidly replied, “I have not failed 1,000 times. I have successfully discovered 1,000 ways to NOT make a light bulb.” What if Edison had given up on the first try?

ee4ede40804130981ef39d753ed59d87
Categories: Muddled Thoughts | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

