New friendships!!

I would modestly say that I am blessed with good people as friends in my life. I attract beautiful lasting friendships. Afterall, we were created to live in a community of people who love us for who we are, regardless of the drama in our life. Making friends is a survival requirement for me…since childhood. Friends help me discover who I am, what my role is, give advice on life situations, or help carry me through tough situations. We are meant to have friends that are closer to us like family.

Having lived in busy cities such as Delhi, Mumbai, New York and Chicago for good years of my life, I love the crazy chaotic lifestyle. Being 30-something-single-girl in crazy-busy cities, yes, it can be difficult to find and make friends. You can’t let excuses like “I don’t have time”, “Work keeps me busy most of the time” come in the way. You need to find time, you need to be vulnerable, you need to recognize your need for people, and you need to pursue friendships.

I met many people through sites similar to Meetup as I wanted to know local friends during my stay in US. The social and communicative process isn’t the difficult aspect, however, finding people with similar or continued interest is. There is also the unfortunate case where every so once and awhile you encounter an  individual that has the ‘one-sidedness’ type of personality or viewpoint on friendship. As time passes by, we realize the probability of finding an actual friend is so incredibly low and other people are therefore just fill-ins for loneliness. You often have to meet a lot of people before you find the ones that you really like as it does take persistence as well to click with people.

Stretch yourself and you will find people who share those same goals and will become your friends. Going beyond our current horizon will naturally lead to letting our guard down and opening up to real friendship. It is hard, but not impossible!!

FA

Categories: General | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “New friendships!!

  1. Having friends is a good thing. I am happy to call you my friend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

