It’s often fun to look in the mirror!!!

During initial years of my career, like any young people, I desperately wanted to carve my own niche and acquire competence. In the course of doing that, I fell into stalled thinking about living up to others’ expectations and achieving perfection. What a misconception!! Success is not that easy to come by and success is never a freebee.

I am a real person with fears, hopes and dreams, and have experienced set-backs, failures and successes just as you have. I have realized that I needed to change, in order to be the kind of person I want to be – one who didn’t succeed by running down my competitors. I like healthy competition and despite my managers telling  me that corporate culture functions in a certain way and has a pre-defined protocol (which I fail to understand till date), I believe that there are consequences for behaviors, that those who behave in an unethical manner, don’t last long in their careers. It’s about personal integrity in environments that practically beg you to bend your principles. Life is a compromise and we must make choices and take the responsibilities that come with choices.

mirrorMost of us learn the hard way, which is sometimes the best way to learn, as wisdom is gained and we work towards bettering ourselves, and enriching others. I have been down certain roads but was willing in being true to myself. I was inspired to let go of the past and getting on with what’s present in my life as trying to fix myself kept me stuck in the places I wanted to be free of, but getting into the moment set me free. Being in the moment and becoming aware of my own mechanical behaviours held the possibility to transform my life. I learnt that transformation allowed for different possibilities in my life that I thought were never possible before.

We should appreciate ourselves and not allow others to beat us down. Humility is about having a realistic self-image — not beating ourselves up for not being good enough and not settling for mediocrity. We should decide what areas are most important to us and make realistic goals to strive for and what areas can wait until a different phase in life.

We should be ready and be able to handle different situations – by accepting what’s happening and following our own feelings and intuition. At times, I have tried to do the perfect thing – and the results it had and the mixed feelings and failures it produced later had me laughing about myself sometimes – to love parts of my life I didn’t accept before and to search for my own way. The fact, that taking myself not too seriously but to focus on what I was doing, was one aspect that shifted my point of view to begin to see my own life in a different light.

We need to be ready to take a long, hard look at themselves and be honest about the choices we have made in our lives. Afterall, we DON’T have to be perfect,we learn from mistakes and grow from them,we learn our strengths and weaknesses because NO ONE is good at everything and is that EVER true! We don’t have to be a clone of the next person – we can be ourselves and benefit our lives and society. We need to keep trying and not give up because we WILL find our place in the world.

Reality check: I will soon be moving to a new city for a new job – I am still scared and unsure about the future, but I am not afraid to start at the bottom.

I don’t  believe in taking right decisions. I take decisions and then make them right” ~ Mr. Ratan Tata

Categories: General | Tags: , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “It’s often fun to look in the mirror!!!

  1. Congratulations on the new job!! Where will you be heading?

    • Thanks Mimi!!! I will be heading to Mumbai – its like New York of India :). I am hit by anxiety but excited too. I will surely be sharing a lot about it once I settle there.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

