Trust your Hunch!

One of my friends called me the other day to tell me she had an interesting experience using her intuition after her mum lost her wedding ring. She said, “It was so strange. I just closed my eyes and pictured the ring in my mind’s eye, and then I opened my eyes and walked right to the place she’d dropped the ring behind a little table. My mum was flabbergasted.”  I was very pleased for my friend, and glad to hear that she could trust her intuition and take action on it!

But do all of us trust our intuition??

We all have access to our intuition even though we may not exactly understand it. For some, intuition comes through a tiny inner voice, for others it may be a sudden thought popping into our head, or a physical sensation. We have all had a gut feeling or hunch about something at some point, and we all can probably remember what happened if we ignored what our intuition was trying to tell us. I am a big believer in the value of intuition and when I have ignored a strong hunch, I always also knew what happens next.

We may be surprised at how easily we can access our intuition. One doesn’t have to practice for hours at a time. Building intuition for the most part involves paying attention to signals from our body and mind. It is not important that we are not always right.  What is important is that we free our mind to allow it to make those wild guesses and then train our mind to pay attention. Now it is not that easy, I know.

Meditation can go a long way towards developing our intuition, as well. And we don’t have to spend hours on the floor in the lotus position listening to soft music, unless one wants to, of course.  Just a few minutes of quiet daily introspection will help to free our mind to receive information. Journaling, doodling, brainstorming, and memory games also help open us to our own intuitive messages. I have one friend who “anchors” her awareness of intuitive thoughts by pressing her index finger to her knee every time she feels her intuition is speaking. She says that now, if she really needs to access her intuition, all she has to do is press her index finger to her knee. I think this technique is quite clever.

No matter how we choose to go about building our intuitive abilities, we should let ourself try this exercise. I think we will be pleased with the results when we find ourself following our intuition and enjoying a better life.

Categories: General | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Trust your Hunch!

  1. I’m a strong believer in intuition having experienced its power and accuracy many times. 🙂

  2. Hi MG. I had an email hunch that something was happening here 😉 If I am not bound by time, good things happen when I am told either “no” or “go” and it works everytime. It’s good fun when it becomes normal and not just a rare experience. Hunches are normal when accepted and not fought against. Ralph x 😀

  3. That’s happened to me before ~ followed the hunch and found the lost item! Love that you shared this!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

